Municipal Elections

 There are 40 precincts within the Fairbanks North Star Borough established by the State. See FNSBC Title 5 - Elections.

A Regular Municipal election is held annually in the Fairbanks North Star Borough on the first Tuesday in October. The next Regular Municipal Election is October 2, 2018. 

           ​Service Area Elections               Elected Officials Information             Municipal Election Historic Documents



October 2, 2018

Regular Municipal Election


Notice of Office Vacancies

This year the Fairbanks North Star Borough will have elective seats open for the offices of Borough Mayor,  Borough Assembly, School Board, and Interior Alaska Natural Gas Utility Board. In order for a candidate's name to appear on the ballot, qualified candidates must declare candidacy and submit the required paperwork to the Borough Clerk between July 16th and 30th. Filing forms and instructions will be available in May.

​Borough Mayor

Borough Assembly​

​School Board

​Interior Alaska  Natural Gas Utility Board (IGU)

​3-year term

(Incumbent: Karl Kassel)

Seat A 3-year term

(Incumbent: Van Lawrence has termed out)

Seat A 3-year term

(Incumbent: Thomas Bartels)

At-Large Seat A 3-year term

(Incumbent: Pamela Throop)​

​Seat F - 3-year term

(Incumbent: Kathryn Dodge has termed out)

​Seat B 3-year term

(Incumbent: Heidi Haas)

​​At-Large Seat B 3-year term

(Incumbent: Mike Meeks)

​Seat F - 3-year term

(Incumbent: Kathryn Dodge has termed out)

​Seat G 3-year term

(Incumbent: Lance Roberts has termed out)


Click Here to View Full Notice of Offices for 2018


 Questions? Contact the Borough Clerk's Office at (907) 459-1401 or email




​ ​

     ‭(Hidden)‬ Content Editor ‭[1]‬